The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act - Employment Standards Service
The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act (MHWFA – often referred to as “Sick and Safe Leave”) took effect February 11, 2018. The MHWFA requires all employers with employees whose primary work location is in Maryland to provide earned sick and safe leave, regardless of where the employer is located.
Employers who employ 15 or more employees are required to provide paid earned safe and sick leave. Employers with less than 15 employees are required to provide unpaid earned sick and safe leave.
Certain employees are exempt from the requirements of the law.
All employees whose primary work location is in Maryland are entitled to accrue sick and safe leave unless they are exempt from coverage under the law.
Leave accrues at the rate of one hour for every thirty hours that an employee works.
An employee is not entitled to accrue sick and safe leave during (1) a 2 week pay period in which the employee worked fewer than 24 total hours; (2) a 1 week pay period if the employee worked fewer than a combined total of 24 hours in the current and immediately preceding pay period; or (3) a pay period in which the employee is paid twice per month and worked fewer than 26 hours in the pay period.
The leave hours provided for under the law are the minimum number of hours an employee is entitled to earn and accrue. An employer may provide more leave for its employees.
The Act preempts local paid sick and safe leave laws enacted on or after January 1, 2017.
The Office of Small Business Regulatory Assistance (OSBRA) assists businesses with compliance with the MHWFA.
Information regarding frequently asked questions (FAQs) is available at MHWFA Frequently Asked Questions
For additional information, contact:
Maryland Department of Labor
Division of Labor and Industry Employment Standards Service
10946 Golden West Drive, Suite 160
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Ayuda en Español: Julio Cesar Carrera, 410-767-2180