The overriding consideration in determining whether a specific program or method of continuing education (CE) qualifies is that it shall be a program or method of learning which contributes directly to the professional competence of an individual after the individual has been licensed to practice certified public accountancy. The Board reserves the authority to determine whether a particular course of continuing education meets the requirements of the regulations (COMAR 09.24.02.04) for qualifying CE for use by a licensee.
All Certified Public Accountants licensed to practice by the State of Maryland are subject to the provisions of the continuing education statutes, regulations and policies relating to those statutes as adopted by the Maryland State Board of Public Accountancy.
Policies Concerning Renewals of Licenses
A wide range of educational programs are recognized by the Board as being of value in fulfilling the continuing professional education requirement (CE). The overriding consideration in determining whether a specific program qualifies is that it contributes directly to the professional competence of an individual after the individual has been licensed to practice certified public accounting.
Regulations provide that all active licensees are required to report the completion of 80 CE. Four (4) CE hours in professional ethics are required among the 80 hours of CE reported at each renewal. Licensees applying for renewal for the first time are not required to report CE; however, they may do so. Applicants for inactive status are not required to report CE.
CE hours reported in excess of the 80 hours required for license renewal can be applied toward the 80 hours of CE necessary for the next immediate renewal. CE hours in ethics in excess of the required four are not eligible for carry forward to the next renewal.
Four hours of ethics CE must be earned in the license period immediately preceding the next renewal term. Thus, a maximum of 76 hours of CE is eligible for application for the next renewal. NOTE: To qualify for CE, college credit or self-study courses must include an examination and must be final (examination corrected and a passing grade obtained) before claims for CE credit can be made.
Time Period for Earning CE
The time period in which you can apply qualifying CE to renew is dependent upon the date that you renewed your current license and the date you submit to renew your current license for the next license term. The Board permits licensees to renew licenses up to 60 days in advance of the expiration of the current license term. Therefore, only CE earned as of the date the license renewal application is submitted is eligible to been reported in the application. CE earned after the date the renewal application is submitted to the Board can be credited toward the following license renewal application.
Record Keeping of CE Hours Earned
Each license renewal application is subject to audit by the Board. It is the primary responsibility of each licensee to fulfill the requirements of the law and to be able to document, to the Board's satisfaction, such fulfillment. All active licensees must maintain, for 4 years, records substantiating (proof of attendance, course outline & expertise of instructor) the continuing education credits claimed by them as a prerequisite for renewal of their license.