Note: To access the Maryland Code Annotated, from the link below, select the “Maryland Code”
folder, then select the individual folders or links provided to delve into the volumes, chapters, and/or sections
of the publication.
Operating Without a License
(a) Except as otherwise provided in Title 12.5, a person may not act as, offer to act as, hold oneself out
as, or impersonate a locksmith in the State unless the person is a licensee or employee of a licensee.
(b) A person that violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, on first conviction, is subject to
a fine not exceeding $1,000 and, on second or subsequent conviction, is subject to a fine not exceeding
Civil Action by the Secretary of DLLR
(a) Subject to the notice and hearing provisions of Title 10, Subtitle 2 of the State Government Article,
the Secretary may bring a civil administrative action against a person that violates §12.5-505(a) of this
(b) After a hearing, if the Secretary finds that a person has violated §12.5-505(a) of this subtitle, the
(1) order the person to cease and desist from unlawful practice; and
(2) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $100 for each day of unlawful practice.
(c) Any person aggrieved by a decision and order of the Secretary under this section may take an appeal as
allowed in Title 10, Subtitle 2 of the State Government Article.