Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC)
The offices of the Maryland Home Improvement Commission are open and serving our customers through our online licensing resources, via e-mail and telephone, and by limited in-person appointments. Please note, walk-in assistance is not available. We can be reached using our contacts page for e-mail addresses and telephone numbers of individual staff members; or
Use Labor’s Central Scheduling System to meet with a representative from one of our boards or commissions. Please select the type of appointment you need from our list of available in-person services using the drop-down menu on the scheduler. You will receive an e-mail confirming the date and time of your appointment.
Appointments are available Monday through Friday, from 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. at our offices located at 500 N. Calvert Street, Baltimore, MD 21202. Please enter the building using the Calvert Street entrance and arrive at least 10 minutes early before your scheduled appointment time.
The Maryland Home Improvement Commission licenses and regulates home improvement contractors and salespersons. Home improvement work includes alteration, remodeling, repair or replacement of a building or part of a building used as a residence. Home improvement also includes work done on individual condominium units. Home improvement does not include work done on commonly owned areas of condominiums or buildings that contain four or more single family units. The Commission investigates complaints by homeowners, awards monetary damages against licensed contractors, and prosecutes violators of the home improvement law and regulations.
The Commission has a Guaranty Fund (The Fund) supported by licensed contractors, who pay a Guaranty Fund assessment when they obtain their Home Improvement license and each time they renew their license. This Fund compensates homeowners for actual monetary losses due to poor workmanship or failure to perform a home improvement contract. The Fund applies only to work done by licensed contractors. The maximum amount that a homeowner may recover through the Fund is the amount paid to the contractor, up to $20,000. If the total amount of all claims against a contractor equals more than $100,000, then each homeowner’s award is pro-rated based upon the total amount awarded to each claimant.
- What Services Are Considered “Home Improvement”?
- FAQs — Do You Need a License to Do That?
- Military Veterans and Families — Learn About Expedited Licensing
- Learn about an easy finance program for energy saving upgrades to homes, apartment properties and businesses:
News and Updates
NOTICE: The MHIC has implemented a PDF e-mail licensing program that eliminate hard copy licenses and will issue PDF licenses effective July 9, 2021. This program will apply to both new and renewal licenses. Licensees will be able to receive their licenses quicker and have the ability to print their own hard copy of the license. Thank you for your patience as we seek to automate our licensing processes.
Please note that all Maryland Home Improvement Commission workshops scheduled to be held at 500 N. Calvert Street have been canceled until further notice. For instructions on how to become licensed as a Maryland home improvement contractor, visit the links below to assist you with the licensing process:
PSI Exams, our private testing firm administering the MHIC contractor’s exam
Notice to Customers of Chevy Chase Master Builder, Inc.
The Maryland Home Improvement Commission suspended the contractor license of Chevy Chase Master Builder, Inc. on June 24, 2019. Due to the volume of Guaranty Fund claims pending against Chevy Chase Master Builder, Inc. (MHIC license no. 01-87150), the Maryland Home Improvement Commission will exercise its authority under Business Regulation Article, §8-409(b) to pay approved claims proportionately. In order to be eligible for a payment from the Guaranty Fund, a claim against Chevy Chase Master Builder, Inc. must be filed with the Commission no later than April 7, 2021. To obtain a claim form with instructions, please send an e-mail to DLOPLMHIC-LABOR@maryland.gov, call 410-230-6169, or visit the Commission at 500 N Calvert St., Room 306, Baltimore, MD 21202.
Notice to Customers of Building Contractors of MD, Inc.
The Maryland Home Improvement Commission terminated the MHIC contractor license of Building Contractors of MD, Inc. on May 5, 2019. Due to the volume of Guaranty Fund claims pending against Building Contractors of MD, Inc. (MHIC license no. 01-92209), the Maryland Home Improvement Commission will exercise its authority under Business Regulation Article, §8-409(b) to pay approved claims proportionately. In order to be eligible for a payment from the Guaranty Fund, a claim against Building Contractors of MD, Inc. must be filed with the Commission no later than November 20, 2020. To obtain a claim form with instructions, please send an e-mail or visit the Commission at 500 N Calvert St., Room 306, Baltimore, MD 21202. Please note that the building may be closed due to the national pandemic.
IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR MHIC LICENSEES
Maryland home improvement contractors and salespersons should be aware that a MHIC license does not authorize you to act in the capacity of a public adjuster when dealing with a homeowner’s insurance company.
A home improvement contractor may prepare an estimate for repair of damages caused to a home by a fire, storm, flood, etc., and the contractor may answer questions the insurance company has about the estimate. However, unless the contractor is licensed as a public adjuster by the Maryland Insurance Administration, the contractor may not prepare the insurance claim for the homeowner, negotiate the claim with the insurance company, or advise the homeowner on the insurance policy’s coverage.
In order to act as a public adjuster on behalf of a property owner in Maryland, a person must obtain a license from the Maryland Insurance Administration. For additional information, please refer to following web page of the Maryland Insurance Administration: Maryland Insurance Administration Advisory.
Maryland eliminated the subcontractor license category as of July 1, 2016. All application, examination, and renewal requirements have been eliminated. Home improvement subcontractors may work without a license when performing home improvements for an MHIC licensed contractor in the state of Maryland.
The law continues to provide that only MHIC licensed contractors may enter into contracts with homeowners to perform home improvement work. The commission encourages all those who wish to become contractors to apply for the Maryland Home Improvement Commission contractor license.
Proposed Regulations Currently Open for Public Comment
There are no proposed regulations by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission at this time.
To register your comments with the Commission, send your letter to the Maryland Home Improvement Commission, 500 N. Calvert Street, 3rd Floor, Baltimore, MD 21202; call 410-230-6309; or e-mail DLOPLMHIC-LABOR@maryland.gov.