HVAC Licensing Notice: It’s the Law - Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractors
All individuals providing heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration services in the State of Maryland must be licensed by the Maryland Board of HVACR Contractors.
You must hold a HVACR license as an Apprentice, Journey, Journey Restricted, Limited Contractor, Master Restricted, or Master Contractor to perform work in the State. Apprentices must be licensed, supervised and be under the control of a licensed Master or Journey licensed individual who is present on the jobsite. Apprentices are not permitted to perform any HVACR work alone or to enter into contracts to perform such services.
Failure to be properly licensed may result in a criminal sentence of imprisonment or up to 2 years per violation for a subsequent violation after a previous conviction. A criminal sentence may be imposed up to 6 months for a first violation and an administrative monetary penalty of up to $5,000 per violation and additionally, impose a license suspension or revocation.