Maryland Board of Cosmetologists
The offices of the Maryland Board of Cosmetologists are open and serving our customers through our online licensing resources, via e-mail and telephone, and by limited in-person appointments. Please note, walk-in assistance is not available. We can be reached using our contacts page for e-mail addresses and telephone numbers of individual staff members; or
Use Labor’s Central Scheduling System to meet with a representative from one of our boards or commissions. Please select the type of appointment you need from our list of available in-person services using the drop-down menu on the scheduler. You will receive an e-mail confirming the date and time of your appointment.
Appointments are available Monday through Friday, from 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. at our offices located at 1100 N. Eutaw Street, 5th Fl. Baltimore, Maryland 21201. Please arrive at least 10 minutes early before your scheduled appointment time.
Please be advised that testing for does not take place at State Board administrative offices. Making an appointment is NOT for exams, you will be directed to PSI. Once you've registered for your exam, go to PSIEXAMS.COM to create an account and schedule your examination. For any and all issues that may occur pertaining to PSI, (General Questions, Concerns, Test Scores, Application Processing, Scheduling Issues, etc) e-mail Cosmetology@psionline.com or Barber@psionline.com. You may also call 1800-367-1565 or 855-898-0714.
Welcome to our home page. The Maryland Board of Cosmetologists qualifies and licenses individuals seeking licensure and issues permits to business entities through which cosmetology is practiced. The Board also establishes health and safety standards for the operation of beauty salons and trade schools. We regulate the practice of cosmetology under the provisions of Business Occupations and Professions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 5 and the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 9, Subtitle 22. We investigate complaints against licensees, as well as complaints related to unlicensed practice. The Board may issue a reprimand, suspend or revoke a license or permit, and/or impose a fine.
We encourage you to report, in writing, any unlicensed activities. We need your help to ensure professionalism in the fields of barbering and cosmetology.
The Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 09.22.01.01 B (2) requires all licensees and registrants to affix a current picture to their licenses. Failure to comply may result in disciplinary action.
Please note: Business Occupations and Professions Article Section 5-605, Annotated Code of Maryland provides that you must be affiliated with a licensed salon or licensed barbershop to perform services.
News and Updates
PDF Licensing Update - Salon PermitsThe Maryland Board of Cosmetologists is pleased to announce an update to our license delivery system. Effective August 1, 2022, we will no longer issue paper salon permits in the mail. Instead, we will begin sending an email notification to you stating that a new or renewed salon permit has been released and is ready to print. By following the link in the email, you will be directed to our licensing portal where you can download your license. You will use your current login and password to access the portal.
Please note, your access to view and print PDF license document will only be active for a total of 60 days. After 60 days, your access to the PDF license document will expire and you will be unable to print the license from the portal unless you contact the board to re-activate. You will also need to contact the Board if you need to print a duplicate copy of your license. If you do not have an email address on file with us, your license will be mailed out to you within 7-10 business days after your application is approved.
PDF licensing for individual licensees is not available at this time and the standard process for the release of licenses will remain the same.
The testing vendors that administer licensing exams for our boards and commissions are open and scheduling exams. Check the status of your testing center directly for updated scheduling and exam information. (Updated March 4, 2021)
Sanitation Guidelines For Salons and Barbershops in Response to COVID-19
Newsflash! Noticia de última hora! Tin tức flash! Kurzmeldung! Новости!On June 3, 2019, the Board of Cosmetologists voted to adopt a policy that requires all interpreters to be credentialed by the State. The board will use the Maryland Judiciary's Interpreter Registry Release List for all interpreters. The list is updated bi-annually by the Maryland Judiciary; an applicant may select any interpreter from the approved list. You may use an interpreter for the Theory part of your examination ONLY.
Maryland Judiciary Interpreter Registry Release List
Entering training hours is simple. Under the Features menu (on the lefthand side of the screen for desktop computers), select Education/Apprenticeship. Once you are there, scroll down to the link that says Sponsor Certification for Apprenticeship Training.
Log in and follow the instructions within to submit your apprentice's training hours. If you do not already have a password set up, you can create one with the "Create My Password" button. The hours will be logged immediately, and you will receive an immediate confirmation that they have gone through.
Hairstylist LicenseMaryland now offers a limited hairstylist license for those who are interested in only performing hair services. Hair services are defined as arranging, bleaching, cleansing, coloring, curling, cutting, dressing, singeing, permanent waving or waving the hair, as well as performing any other similar procedure intended to beautify, clean or embellish the hair.
To become a hairstylist, applicants must be at least 17 years of age and have completed 9th grade or a GED®. Applicants must submit proof of completion of 1200 hours of training in a cosmetology school or 15 months as an apprentice hairstylist in a licensed beauty salon, and qualify by an examination given by the Board.
Proposed Regulations Currently Open for Public Comment
None at this time.
To register your comments with the Board, send your letter to the Maryland Board of Cosmetologists, 1100 N. Eutaw Street, Room 121, Baltimore, Maryland 21201; e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org; or fax 410-962-8483.