Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing


Maryland Board of Architects


Board Members:
Diane Cho, Chair, Architect, Baltimore City
Cynthia E. Shonaiya, Architect, Baltimore County
Paul D. Edmeades, Architect, Harford County
Stephen L. Parker, Architect, Montgomery County
Magda Westerhout, Architect, Baltimore City
Gary Ey, Consumer Member, Harford County
Stephanie V. Hopkins, Consumer Member, Baltimore City

Steve Long, Executive Director
James A. Baseman, Assistant Executive Director
Iris Beasley, Administrative Secretary




Welcome to our home page. The State Board of Architects qualifies and licenses individuals seeking licensure and issues permits to business entities through which architecture is practiced. The Board regulates the practice of architecture under the provisions of Business Occupations and Professions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, Title 3 and the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 9, Subtitle 21. The Board investigates complaints against licensees, as well as complaints related to unlicensed practice. The Board may issue a reprimand, suspend or revoke a license or permit, and/or impose a fine.

Public Meetings
Regular business meetings of the State Board of Architects are scheduled monthly, at 500 N. Calvert Street, Baltimore, MD 21202.
The Board suggests that you check the DLLR calendar and contact us at (410) 230-6261 to confirm date, location and time.

Meeting Minutes

If the information you need is not listed on our web page, please feel free to contact the Maryland State Board:

Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing
Board for Architects
500 N. Calvert Street, Room 308
Baltimore, Maryland  21202-3651
(410) 230-6261
Fax:  (410) 333-0021
e-mail: architect@dllr.state.md.us