GED® Test Information - Adult Education and Literacy Services
Applying to Take the GED® Test
To take the GED® test in Maryland, you must:
- Be a resident of Maryland
- Be at least 18 years old. Candidates under 19 years old must have officially withdrawn from a high school program, submitted the 2017-2018 GED® Official School Withdrawal/Exception Form to the Maryland GED® Office. The Maryland GED® Office will review the school withdrawal form. Approval is dependent on proper completion of the form. Testers need to periodically check their GED® account for approval status. Date of birth will be verified at the Testing Center.
Print and fill out the 2017-2018 GED® Official School Withdrawal/Exception Form.
- Be at least 16 years old only if the candidate qualifies for an exception under the Compulsory Attendance Education Law. Submit the 2017-2018 GED® Official School Withdrawal/Exception Form completed by the last school attended. The exception code must be provided.
- Be at least 16 years old if enrolled in a home instruction program. For those receiving home instruction, submit the GED® Office Home Instruction Verification Form completed by the jurisdictional home school office.
- Have acceptable identification to present at the Testing Center:
- A current (not expired) Maryland driver's license or current (not expired) Maryland learner's permit issued by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
- A current Maryland identification card issued by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
- A current active duty dependent’s military ID card
*NOTE: Attaining a Maryland MVA-issued ID can take up to 10 business days. You cannot use a letter of intent from the Maryland MVA in the place of the Maryland MVA-issued ID. Testers should not schedule any test until they have the official Maryland MVA-issued ID in hand. Go to Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration for more information on attaining a Maryland MVA-issued ID.
If none of the forms of identification and residency identified above are attainable, the candidate may apply to the Secretary of the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation for an Identification Waiver. The candidate must provide to the GED® Testing Office one or more forms of identification which collectively show name, address, date of birth, signature, and photograph. If the documentation is acceptable, the Secretary may issue a waiver letter accepting the alternative documentation. This official embossed letter must be presented, along with the supporting documentation, to the testing center at each time of testing.
*NOTE: Identification Waivers are only for those who are unable to attain a Maryland MVA-issued identification. A U.S. citizen or those with a U.S. passport are not eligible for an Identification Waiver. Those with a state-issued identification from a state other than Maryland are not eligible for an Identification Wavier and will be required to attain a Maryland MVA-issued identification prior to testing in Maryland.
Registration and Scheduling
Create an account at GED® website to register to take the GED® test and click on Register Today. Or test takers can register 24 hours per day, seven days a week, through the Pearson VUE call center at 1-877-EXAM-GED (392-6433). Please do NOT create duplicate accounts. When scheduling your test modules, be aware that it is not advisable to take more than two modules per day.
Cost of testing
First time testing of each GED® module costs $11.25 per module, payable by credit card, debit card, or gift card at the time of scheduling. Visit the GED® website for registration and scheduling information.
Below is the fee structure for the GED® Test in Maryland.
Test per Module
Most test takers in Maryland achieve a passing score within the first three attempts. Test takers are encouraged to obtain instructional assistance before any retesting.
Below is the fee structure if additional retests are attempted.
Test per Module
**If the tester does not test within 12 months of taking the initial test module, the tester will be charged the full $30.00. Per the GED Testing Service, in order to pay the discounted rate of $10.00 for retesting, “retakes must occur within 12 calendar months of your initial attempt”.
Additionally, the tester must schedule retests individually for the discounted cost of $10.00 to apply. If the tester schedules a retest with other retests or with an initial test of a different module, the tester will be charged the full cost of $30.00 even if the retest is taken within 12 months of the initial test module.
Testers are limited to a total of three tests per module per calendar year. Testers should pace testing and consider getting instructional assistance to prepare for retests. If additional retests are needed, the tester must wait until January 1 of the following year to schedule when new test forms become available from GED® Testing Service.
GED® Testing in Spanish
Maryland offers the current GED® test in English or Spanish. Indicate the language format you desire during the scheduling process. Three of the four modules may be taken in Spanish; however, the Reasoning through Language Arts (RLA) module must be taken in English.
GED® Test Scores/Diploma Information
Candidates who have passed all four modules of the GED® test are awarded a Maryland High School Diploma issued jointly by the Maryland State Board of Education and the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation. Once DLLR receives your passing scores on all four modules, your Maryland High School Diploma will be mailed automatically to you at the address you provided during your GED® registration process within three weeks of passing the fourth module. If your address has changed from the time you created your GED® account to the time you pass the GED® test and you have not updated your address information, please do so to ensure timely delivery of your high school diploma.