

Minimum Wage and Overtime Law for Howard County



Minimum Wage Rates Employers:*

\$15.00 Effective 1/1/23 \$16.00 Scheduled 1/1/25

Small Employers:*

\$15.00 Effective 1/1/24

\$15.50

Scheduled 1/1/26

\$16.00Scheduled 7/1/26

Howard County
Government Employees:*

\$16.00

Scheduled 7/1/24

*As defined in the Howard County Code

Howard County

Different minimum wage rates are in effect. Employers in this county are required to post the applicable rate information.

(Howard County Code, Title 12, Subtitle 22)

Minimum Wage:

Most employees must be paid the Howard County Minimum Wage Rate.

Tipped Employees (earning more than \$30 per month in tips) must earn the County Minimum Wage Rate per hour. Employers must pay at least \$3.63 per hour. This amount plus tips must equal at least the County Minimum Wage Rate. Subject to the adoption of related regulations, restaurant employers who utilize a tip credit are required to provide employees with a written or electronic wage statement for each pay period showing the employee's effective hourly rate of pay including employer paid cash wages plus tips for tip credit hours worked for each workweek of the pay peri- od. Additional information and updates will be posted on the Maryland Department of Labor web- site.

Employees under 18 years of age must earn at least 85% of the County Minimum Wage Rate.

Overtime:

Most employees must be paid <u>1.5 times</u> their usual hourly rate for all work over **40 hrs.** per week, except that certain agricultural workers must be paid 1.5 times their usual hourly rate for work over 60 hrs. per week.

Exemptions from Howard County Minimum Wage and Overtime:

- Immediate family member of the employer
- Certain agricultural employees
- Volunteers for educational, charitable, religious, and non-profit organizations
- Employees under the age of 16 working less than 20 hours per week
- Employees enrolled as trainees as part of a public school special education program
- Non-administrative employees of organized camps

Exemptions from Overtime Only (must earn the County Minimum Wage Rate):

- Taxicab drivers
- Certain employees selling/servicing automobiles, farm equipment, trailers, or trucks
- Non-profit concert promoter, theater, music festival, music pavilion, or theatrical show
- Employers subject to certain railroad requirements of the U.S. Dept. of Transportation, the Federal Motor Carrier Act, and the Interstate Commerce Commission
- Seasonal amusement and recreational establishments that meet certain criteria
- Executives, administrative, and professional employees
- Outside salespersons
- Commissioned employees
- Establishments engaged in the first canning, packing or freezing of fruits, vegetables, poultry, or seafood
- Certain establishments selling food and drink for consumption on the premises grossing less than \$400,000 annually
- Drive-in theaters

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO FILE A COMPLAINT

CONTACT: Maryland Department of Labor

Division of Labor and Industry—Employment Standards Service

10946 Golden West Drive, Suite 160 Hunt Valley, MD 21031 one Number: (410) 767 2357 • Fax Number: (410)

Telephone Number: (410) 767-2357 • Fax Number: (410) 333-7303 E-mail: dldliemploymentstandards-dllr@maryland.gov

EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED BY LAW TO POST THIS INFORMATION CONSPICUOUSLY THIS IS A SUMMARY OF THE LAW. TO ENSURE COMPLIANCE, CONSULT A LEGAL ADVISOR.