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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR and Overtime Law E

(Labor and Employment Article, Title 3, Subtitle 4, Annotated Code of Maryland)

Minimum Wage
Most employees must be paid the Maryland State Minimum Wage Rate.

Minimum
Wage Rates

Employers with 15 or
more employees:

$12.50

Effective 1/1/2022

$13.25
Scheduled 1/1/23

$14.00

Scheduled 1/1/24

Tipped Employees (earning more than $30 per month in tips) must earn the State Minimum Wage Rate
per hour. Employers must pay at least $3.63 per hour. This amount plus tips must equal at least the
State Minimum Wage Rate. Subject to the adoption of related regulations, restaurant employers
who utilize a tip credit are required to provide employees with a written or electronic wage state-
ment for each pay period showing the employee’s effective hourly rate of pay including employer
paid cash wages plus tips for tip credit hours worked for each workweek of the pay period. Addi-
tional information and updates will be posted on the Maryland Department of Labor website.

Employees under 18 years of age must earn at least 85% of the State Minimum Wage Rate.

Overtime

Most employees must be paid 1.5 times their usual hourly rate for all work over 40 hrs. per
week. Exceptions:

Employers with 14 or
fewer employees:

$12.20
Effective 1/1/22

$12.80
Scheduled 1/1/23

$13.40

Scheduled 1/1/24

o Agricultural workers for all work over 60 hrs. per week

Exemptions

Minimum Wage and Overtime Exemptions: e Establishments engaged in the first canning,

e Immediate family member of the employer packing or freezing of fruits, vegetables, poultry,

e Certain agricultural employees or seafood

e Executives, administrative, and professional
employees

e Volunteers for educational, charitable, religious,
and non-profit organizations

e Employees under 16 working less than 20 hours
per week

e Qutside salespersons

e Commissioned employees

e Employees enrolled as a trainee as part of a
public school special education program

e Non-administrative employees of organized

Overtime Only Exemptions

(must earn the State Minimum Wage Rate):

e Taxicab drivers

e Certain employees selling/servicing
automobiles, farm equipment, trailers, or trucks

e Non-profit concert promoter, theater, music
festival, music pavilion, or theatrical show

o Employers subject to certain railroad
requirements of the U.S. Dept. of
Transportation, the Federal Motor Carrier Act,

Montgomery Co.
Different minimum
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applicable rate
information.

FOR MORE INFORMATION OR TO FILE A COMPLAINT CONTACT:

Maryland Department of Labor
Division of Labor and Industry—Employment Standards Service
10946 Golden West Drive, Suite 160
Hunt Valley, MD 21031
Telephone Number: (410) 767-2357 « Fax Number: (410) 333-7303

E-mail: dldliemploymentstandards-dllr@maryland.gov

EMPLOYERS ARE REQUIRED BY LAW TO POST THIS INFORMATION CONSPICUOUSLY.
THIS IS A SUMMARY OF THE LAW. TO ENSURE COMPLIANCE, CONSULT A LEGAL ADVISOR.

PENALTIES ARE PRESCRIBED FOR VIOLATION OF THE LAW. Rev. 52022
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