
Maryland Foreclosed Property Registry  

Foreclosure Purchaser Instructions 
 

Maryland law requires residential property purchased at a foreclosure sale to be registered with the 

Commissioner of Financial Regulation within 30 days after the date of the foreclosure sale (see Md. 

Code Ann., Real Property §7-105.14). Registrations must be submitted and updated through 

Maryland’s electronic Foreclosure Registration System (Foreclosed Property Registry) available at 

https://www.dllr.state.md.us/ForeclosureSystems/. 

Please refer to the Help and Resources page available on the Foreclosure Registration System 

website (link above) for instructions on creating an account and submitting registrations. 

 

PURCHASER INSTRUCTIONS 

 Foreclosure purchasers must have a user account with the Foreclosure Registration System to 

access the Foreclosed Property Registry. It may take several days to activate and/or approve a new 

user account.  

 Persons that are purchasing property with their individual name, or independent real estate brokers 

practicing under their individual name, should create an Individual User (Input Agent) account.  

 Foreclosure purchasers that are a company or trust, or are employed by or otherwise representing a 

company or trust, should create a Company User account. Refer to the appropriate User Guide for 

assistance, on the Help and Resources page of the Foreclosure Registration System (link above).  

 The Foreclosed Property Registry is one of three submission portals in the Foreclosure Registration 

System. The Foreclosed Property Registry is the only portal that purchasers of residential property 

at a foreclosure sale should use to submit registrations. If you are a substitute foreclosure purchaser, 

please contact Financial Regulation staff at the email below before submitting a registration.  

 There are two stages of the registration process: initial and final.  

 Initial registrations must be submitted by the purchaser within 30 days after the foreclosure sale. 

There is a required $50 fee that must be paid at the time of submission. Late submissions are assessed 

a $100 fee. 

 Final registrations must be submitted by the purchaser within 30 days after the deed is recorded. 

The foreclosure sale purchaser must submit the final registration. It cannot be submitted by a 

subsequent purchaser. There is no fee to submit a final registration. 

 If there are changes to certain information contained within the initial registration, the registration must be 

updated within 21 business days of those changes being known to the purchaser. See Md. Code Ann., 

Real Property §7-105.14(d)(5). 

 

 

If you have questions, please email Financial Regulation staff at FinReg.ForeclosureSystems@maryland.gov. 

Please consult the appropriate User Guide (link above) for assistance before contacting Financial Regulation. 
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