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Quick Ul Resource for Claimants

1. File an Initial Claim

Applying for unemployment insurance (Ul) benefits (also called filing an initial claim) is the
first step in your Ul process. Apply for Ul benefits in the U.S. state/district where you worked.
You can file:

e Online in BEACON (beacon.labor.maryland.gov/)

By calling 667-207-6520 (Monday to Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.)

For more information about filing an initial claim, see the Claims Filing - Initial Claims
FAQS (labor.maryland.gov/employment/claimfaqg.shtml).

2. Review your Benefit Determination

After you apply, you will receive a benefit determination (in BEACON and through your
preferred communication method, which you select when you apply) which will inform you
whether you are eligible for Ul benefits, include your weekly benefit amount, etc.

3. Appeals

If you are not eligible for Ul benefits, you may file an appeal (instructions are included on
your benefit determination). Your former employer may also appeal a determination that
awards benefits to you.

For more, see the Ul Appeals webpage (labor.maryland.gov/uiappeals/).

4. Weekly Benefit Amount (WBA)

The WBA is a fixed, weekly Ul benefit payment eligible individuals will receive. The WBA
ranges from $50 to $430. If eligible, you may receive up to 26 weeks of Ul benefits.

« The WBA is based on your earnings in the base period (designated one-year period). See
Eligibility Requirements FAQs (labor.maryland.gov/employment/claimfaq.shtml) to
learn more.

NOTE: Ul benefits are taxable. You may choose to have federal tax (10%), Maryland state tax
(7%), both, or no taxes withheld from your Ul benefits.
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4. Claimant Responsibilities

After filing an initial claim, you must:

Be able and available for work without restrictions.

File weekly claim certifications. You must file a claim certification for each week that
you are unemployed to request benefit payments. You can file via:

« BEACON

« MD Unemployment for Claimants mobile app (download from iOS App Store or
Google Play Store);

« Interactive Voice Response phone system at 410-949-0022 or 800-827-4839.

Be available and/or contact the Maryland Division of Unemployment Insurance and/or
the Maryland Division of Workforce Development and Adult Learning (DWDAL), when
instructed to do so.

* You may be selected for a mandatory Reemployment Services and Eligibility
Assessment (RESEA) workshop or Reemployment Opportunity Workshop (ROW).

Meet work search requirements (see Work Search Requirements webpage at
labor.maryland.gov/employment/uirex.shtml)

accept suitable work, when offered,;

report all payments you received/know you will receive (wages, self-employment
income, commission, first payment from a pension you did not previously report, etc.) on
your weekly claim certification.

See Eligibility Requirements FAQs (labor.maryland.gov/employment/claimfaqg.shtml).

5. Ul Fraud

If you knowingly make false statements, misrepresent, or fail to give important facts to
obtain or increase Ul benefits, you may be determined to have committed Ul fraud.
Penalties for Ul fraud include: repaying all fraudulently-obtained Ul benefits, with fees and
interest; loss of future Ul benefits, additional fines and/or imprisonment.

« If you make an honest mistake on your initial claim or weekly claim certification call 667-
207-6520 (8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday).

6. Claimant Resources

 Information for New Claimants (labor.maryland.gov/employment/new-filers.shtml)

« Claimant FAQs (labor.maryland.gov/employment/claimfaq.shtml)
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