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CONSENT ORDER

’fhis matter comes before the State Board of Architects (the “Board”) as the result
of an audit of the Continuing Professional Competency (“CPC”) requirements conducted
by the Board in connection with the 2017 renewal application of Kenneth A. Hart
(“Respondent”) license no. 04-10300. As a result of the audit, it was determined that the
Respondent did not complete the required hours of continuing education for renewal of
his license. In order to resolve this matter, the Board and the Respondent have agreed to
enter into this Consent Order, and agree and stipulate to the following:

1. The Respondent’s license to practice architecture expired on March 29, 2017.

2. The Respondent submitted an application to renew his license on March 26, 2017.

3. Pursuant to Section 3-309.1, Business Occupations and Professions

Article, Maryland Annotated Code and Section 09.21.05 of the Code of Maryland
Regulations (COMAR), the Respondent was required to complete 24 hours of continuing
education during the 24 month period preceding the renewal date of March 26, 2017.

4. The Respondent certified on his application that the CPC requirement had been
fulfilled before submitting his application for renewal.

5. On March 26, 2017, the Respondent was notified that he was the subject of an audit
of his CPC hours and was required to provide certificates of completion or ﬁ transcript of

the hours to the Board within 30 days of the date of the audit.



6. The Respondent failed to provide evidence of completing the CPC requirement.

7. The Respondent acknowledges that failure to obtain all the required CPC hours

before submitting his application for renewal is a violation of Section 3-309.1 of the

Business Occupations and Professions Article, Maryland Annotated Code, and COIYIAR

09.21.05.

8. The Respondent agrees to pay a fine in the amount of twenty-four hundred dollars

($2400) for failing to complete the CPC requirements before submitting his application

for renewal. |

9. The Respondent agrees to pay the fine with acceptance of this Consent Order.

10. The Respondent agrees to complete 24 hours of continuing education in health,

safety, and welfare (HSW) subjects acceptable to the Board within 30 days of this

Consent Order.

11. The Respondent agrees to provide to the Board the original certificates or transcripts

showing completion of 24 hours of continuing education within 30 days of acceptance of

this Consent Order.

12. The Respondent waives the right to the issuance of a statement of charges and a

formal hearing on the charges in this matter and where the Respondent would have the

opportunity to present a defense to the charges.

13. The Respondent agrees that if the Respondent fails to comply with the terms of this

Consent Order, the Respondent’s license will immediately be suspended by the Board,
~without a hearing on the suspension, and that the suspension will continue until the

Respondent evidences compliance with the Consent Order. The Respondent recdgniz@s



that should the license be suspended, the Board is required to notify the National Council
of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) of the suspension.

14. The Respondent and the Board understand that this Consent Order will serve as the -
Final Order in this matter and be a part of the Respondent’s licensing record that is
maintained by the Board. The Board’s records and publications will reflect the terms of

the Consent Order.

WHEREFORE, based on these stipulations and agreements, it is hereby this

Zéhdilay of W , 2017, ORDERED by the State Board of
<

Architects:

I.  That the Respondent has violated Section 3-309.1 of the Business Occupations and
Professions Article, Maryland Annotated Code and COMAR 09.21.05 for failing to meet
the minimum requirements of CPC before submitting his application for renewal;

II. That the Respondent shall p'ay a fine of twenty-four hundred dollars ($2400) in
connection with the violation upon acceptance of this Consent Order;

III. That the Respondent shall complete 24 hours of continuing education in HSW
subjects acceptable to the Board and provide to the Board original certificates or
transcripts verifying completion of the continuing education within thirty (30) days of the
acceptance of this Consent Order;

IV. Thatin the event the terms and conditions of this Consent Order are not met by the
Respondént, the Board shall immediately suspend the Respondent’s license, without a

hearing on the suspension, and that the suspension will continue until such time as the



| Respondent ewdences comphance w1th the terms of tlns Consent Order, and NCARB

k “shall be notxﬁed of the suspensmn, and

o 'V 'I'hat tl1e records of the Board shall reﬂect that tlus matter was resolved W1th tlus

. ,Consent Ordet .
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