Information for Maryland Consumers

CHECKSCASHING

SERVICES

What is a Check Cashing Service?
A check cashing service accepts checks from consumers, and in return the check
cashing service provides the consumer with a cash payment in the amount of the
check, minus fees.

Retailers and other businesses may offer check cashing services that are incidental
to the sale of goods or other services. Banks and credit unions may also charge fees
to cash a check, even if the check is drawn from their own financial institution.

Your Protection Under Maryland Law About Our Office
With the exception of certain banks and credit unions, Maryland requires all check
cashers to be licensed or registered with the Commissioner of Financial Regulation.

The Office of Financial
Regulation is the primary

Licensed check cashers are limited to the following fees: regulator for state-chartered

. If cashing a check that was issued by local, state or federal government, the fee financial institutions and state-
is limited to 2% of the amount of the check or $3, whichever is greater. licensed financial service

. If cashing a personal check, the fee is limited to 10% of the amount of the check providers.
or $5, whichever is greater. The Office’s mission is to

« |f cashing another type of payment instrument, the fee is limited to 4% of the protect Marylanders through the
amount of the payment instrument or $5, whichever is greater. operation of a modern financial

« A one-time membership fee that may not exceed $5. regulatory system that promotes

respect for consumers, safety
and compliance, fair competition,
responsible business innovation,

and a strong state economy.

Registered check cashers may charge a fee that is 1.5% of the amount of the
check/payment instrument or $1, whichever is greater.

Licensed or registered check cashers must display, in 48 point or larger type,
a notice of the fees they charge for their check cashing services and the phone

number for our Office.
Wes Moore, Governor

Questions & Concerns
To verify whether a business providing check cashing services is licensed or
registered in Maryland, visit www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org.

Aruna Miller, Lt. Governor

Portia Wu, Secretary, Maryland
Department of Labor

If you believe you have been overcharged or have other concerns
about a check cashing service, you can file a complaint with our Office
by visiting www.labor.maryland.gov/finance/consumers.
Call 410-230-6077 or email CSU.Complaints@maryland.gov for assistance.

Antonio P. Salazar, Commissioner
of Financial Regulation
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