Workforce Creation and Adult Education Transition Council Members


On July 1, 2008, the new law aligning adult education and correctional education programs with workforce creation under the DLLR umbrella took effect. The law presents an incredible opportunity to design a new paradigm for the alignment of adult and correctional education and workforce creation in Maryland.

Below is a list of the members appointed to serve on the Workforce Creation and Adult Education Transition Council. Broad participation in the Council's work is important to ensure input from a wide variety of stakeholders and experts, and there has been tremendous interest. There will be considerable opportunities for non-council members to participate in the transition planning process.

Given the enormity of the task at hand, the Council will establish four work groups to examine specific issues. The bulk of the work will be done through these work groups:

  1. Adult Basic Education (including family literacy, workplace literacy, ESL)
  2. Corrections
  3. Funding Strategies
  4. Internal Administration

Participation in these work groups is open to anyone interested in becoming involved in the process. If you are interested in participating, please email adulted@dllr.state.md.us.

The first meeting of the Transition Council will be on July 29, 2008 from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. at the Reginald F. Lewis Museum in Baltimore. Additional information will be available here soon.

Ex-Officio Members

Thomas E. Perez, Co-Chair
Secretary, Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

Nancy Grasmick, Co-Chair
State Superintendent of Schools

David Edgerley
Secretary, Department of Business and Economic Development

Gary Maynard
Secretary, Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services

James Lyons
Secretary, Maryland Higher Education Commission

Brit Kirwan
Chancellor, University System of Maryland

Bill Robertson
Chair, Governor's Workforce Investment Board

Appointed Members

Senator Thomas "Mac" Middleton
Member of the House

Mary Baykan
Director, Washington County Free Library / Western Maryland Regional Library

Shirley Bigley-Lamotte
CEO, Baltimore Reads

Rev. Dr. Karen Brown
Executive Director, HEAL

Melinda Brown
President, Maryland Association for Adult Community and Continuing Education

Barbara Denman
Director of Adult Education Program, Prince George's Community College

Christopher Eddings
President and Publisher, The Daily Record

Robert Lester Green
Warden, Montgomery County Department of Correction and Rehabilitation

Shelley Johnson
Director, Career and Technology Education, Montgomery County Public Schools

Patricia Keeton
Executive Director of Workforce Development, Howard Community College

James LaCalle
President, Harford Community College

Fred Mason, Jr.
President, Maryland and DC AFL-CIO

Dan McDermott
Executive Director, Upper Shore Workforce Investment Board

Jason Perkins-Cohen
Executive Director, Job Opportunities Task Force