The DLLR website will be unavailable from about 8:00 AM ET until about 12:00 PM ET on Saturday, October 4, 2014. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for your patience.

DLLR's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

 

Maryland Begins Home Inspector Licensing - Maryland Commission of Real Estate Appraisers, Appraisal Management Companies and Home Inspectors

 

Maryland's Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation began the licensing process for home inspectors April 1, 2007, with all Maryland home inspectors required to be licensed by January 1, 2008. The implementation of the new requirements governing the licensure and regulation of home inspectors went into effect on October 1, 2008.

The cost of a home inspector license is $400.00 and is valid for two-years. In addition, a one-time $50.00 non-refundable application fee is required. As of January 1, 2008, it will be illegal to operate in Maryland without a valid Maryland Home Inspector's license. Violators are subject to criminal charges, up to a one-year jail sentence and/or a $5,000 penalty.

On October 1, 2008, new requirements for obtaining a home inspector license went into effect. Each applicant must:

  1. complete a 72-hour on-site home inspector training course, that is approved by the Commission;
  2. provide evidence of having completed a high school diploma or its equivalent;
  3. provide an examination score report verifying successful completion of the National Home Inspector Examination or its equivalent;
  4. pay a non-refundable application review fee in the amount of $50.00; and
  5. provide proof of general liability insurance in an amount of at least $150,000.

On April, 1, 2007, the application will be available online for download on the Forms page.