State offices and all DLLR physical locations will be closed to the public December 24 & December 25, 2014. However, Unemployment Insurance telephone and Web operations WILL be available on Wednesday, December 24.

DLLR's Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

 

Board Promulgates New Regulations - News - Maryland Board of Public Accountancy

 

On April 1, 2014, the Board of Public Accountancy took Final Action to implement the following Regulations:

Increase in application, licensing and permit fees
(effective May 1, 2014)

Fees for CPA Examination qualification, license/permit applications, license/permit fees, and reinstatements will increase an average of 12.5% as indicated below:

 
APPLICATION/LICENSE/PERMIT CURRENT EFF. MAY 1, 2014
Original Exam Application Fee 60.00 67.00
Reciprocal Application 60.00 67.00
Original License Fee 20.00 22.00
Renewal Fee 50.00 56.00
Inactive Status Application 25.00 28.00
Renewal Inactive Status 25.00 28.00
Reinstatement Fee - Inactive Status 50.00 56.00
Reactivation from Inactive Status 50.00 56.00
Reinstatement Fee-Expired License 100.00 112.00
Firm Application Fee 60.00 67.00
Firm Permit Fee 60.00 67.00
Firm Renewal Fee 120.00 135.00
Firm Reinstatement Fee 240.00 270.00
Transfer of Grades Application 60.00 67.00
 

The Notice of the Board’s Final Action is published in the April 18, 2014 issue of the Maryland Register.

Time period for amending CPE reported in license renewal application
(effective April 28, 2014).

Licensees who wish to amend the CPE reported in their license renewal application will have 30 days from the date the application was submitted to do so. Requests to amend the number of CPEs reported must be submitted in writing to the Board. A request for modification must include documentation of the completion of the number of CPE hours claimed in the initial application as well as any additional hours of CPE.

Conversion rate from quarter hours to semester hour college course clarified
(effective April 28, 2014).

The Board established that a quarter hour of college level education equals .667 (2/3) hours of a semester hour of college instruction. Specifically, this formula establishes the minimum number of hours of quarter hour college education required to meet the basic accounting and business courses. This conversion formula also applies to the 120 semester hour equivalent for examination qualification and the 150 semester hour requirement for license qualification. To qualify for the CPA Examination an applicant must have completed at least 180 quarter hours to equal 120 semester hours. To qualify for a license, an applicant must have completed 225 quarter hours to equal 150 semester hours.

Licensees must report convictions disciplinary actions to Board within 30 days
(effective April 28, 2014)

The Board added a new responsibility under the Code of Professional Conduct. A licensee who is convicted of a felony or misdemeanor under the laws of the United States or any state; sanctioned by a unit of the federal or state government; or any regulatory entity established by law must disclose the conviction or sanction to the Board, in writing, within 30 days. An appeal of the conviction or sanction does not relive the licensee of the responsibility to disclose the conviction or sanction.