OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
2XMa ryland

Maryland Home Improvement Commission

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 100 N. Eutaw St, Room 121

Baltimore, MD 21201

Congratulations in deciding to apply for a Maryland Home Improvement Contractor's License. Getting a
MHIC license is critical to the success of your home improvement business and it's the law! The MHIC licensing
staff looks forward to assisting you.

As part of Original Contractor’s application, you must submit and provide the following items.

Required information & Checklist for a MHIC Original Contractor License Application:

1.

Trade Name - Prior to registering your Trade name/Partnership/Corporation:

@)
@)

Call the Commission at 410-230-6231 to check for name availability.

Then, register your business name with the Maryland Department of Assessment and

Taxation https://egov.maryland.gov/BusinessExpress/ and submit proof of acceptance with your
license application.

If you are trading as a Corporation/LLC, you must submit the Articles of
Incorporation/Organization and Certificate of Good Standing.

Out of state corporations must register in Maryland, along with the name and address of the
resident agent located in Maryland.

Financial Solvency - the Commission requires that all applicants demonstrate financial
solvency. (Assets - Liabilities = Net Worth)

o

If financial solvency is not met. Any applicant who does not meet the financial solvency
guidelines may purchase a surety bond or obtain an indemnitor.

Surety Bond - you may obtain a two-year $30,000.00 Surety

Bond (must show the name of the individual applicant as well as the company's name) and be
signed by the applicant. http://labor.maryland.gov/license/mhic/mhichondagencies.shtml

Indemnitor - Indemnitor must meet the same financial solvency requirements that are required of
the applicant.

CO0-Owner Signature Form: If you have someone who is a co-owner of your real property, you will

need to complete the Co-owner's Signature Form. This form may be found at the following link:
https://www.labor.maryland.gov/forms/mhiccoownsig.doc. Have the form signed notarized and submit

it with your application package.

Real Estate & Bank Statements

o

A copy of your current real property assessment notice(s) must be enclosed if real estate is listed
on your financial statement. You may also include a written appraisal to prove property value
from a licensed appraiser. (not more than two years old) For out-of-state property(ies), please
include copy of deed. (comparables not accepted)

The license application must have notarized signature of co-owner(s) of real estate, bank accounts
or other assets.

Submit a copy of the last three months of personal bank statements. Business accounts are not
considered.


https://egov.maryland.gov/BusinessExpress/
http://labor.maryland.gov/license/mhic/mhicbondagencies.shtml
https://www.labor.maryland.gov/forms/mhiccoownsig.doc

o Vehicles - A copy of title/registration and printout of Kelly Blue Book Value must be provided.

(Business vehicles not accepted)
o Other Assets - Must provide proof of ownership and documented proof of value.

Credit Report
o A current, original credit report from one of the three credit bureaus must accompany your

application. (dated within 90 days or less)
o You have the option of obtaining a credit report from www.annualcreditreport.com

Certificate of Liability Insurance - $50,000.00 or more of general liability insurance

Must be submitted. Certificate must:
o Include the name of the individual applicant as well as the company's name.

Designate the Maryland Home Improvement Commission as the Certificate Holder at the
address: 1100 N. Eutaw St., Baltimore, Maryland 21201
o This insurance must be always in effect.

©)

Current Photo: A current 2 x 2 photograph of yourself or a clear copy of your driver’s license.

Send ALL these documents to:

by Email to: DLOPLMHICLIC-LABOR@MARYLAND.GOV * PREFERED *

- OR -

¢ by Mail to: Maryland Home Improvement Commission
1100 North Eutaw Street
Baltimore, MD. 21201
410-230-6231

Applications will not be accepted at the Home Improvement Commission.

Please carefully review your application package prior to submission. If your application is received incomplete,
you will have 45 days to submit the remaining documents. After such time your application will be returned to
you and a refund issued. The $20.00 application fee will not be refunded.
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