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MARYLAND INSTALLMENT LOAN  
BRANCH APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

LEGAL REQUIREMENTS:  

Maryland Code Annotated, Commercial Law § 12-103(a)(3) or (c) (Interest and Usary) 

Maryland Code Annotated, Commercial Law § 12-901 et seq. (Credit Grantor Law/Open-End Credit) 

Maryland Code Annotated, Commercial Law § 12-1001 et seq. (Credit Grantor Law/Closed-End Credit)  

Maryland Code Annotated, Financial Institutions § 11-301 et seq. (Installment Loans-Licensing 

Provisions) 

  

APPLICATION PROCESS: This document includes instructions for a new collection agency branch 

license request via the Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation (“Commissioner”) website at: 

http://www.dllr.state.md.us/finance/industry/installlend.shtml. If you need to complete a new application 

for a company location (principal executive office location) refer to the appropriate new application 

checklist. 

 

Note: The company (principal executive office location) must submit a new application form (or be in an 

approved-status) prior to the submission of a new branch application.  Additionally, if you have more than 

one location, you must submit a separate application for each location. 

 

Please note that the Commissioner must receive (at the address below) the information  marked 

“Attached” on the checklist within five (5) business days of the electronic submission of your 

application: 

 

INCOMPLETE APPLICATION: If your application package is incomplete (including explanations 

and/or required documentation submitted in an incorrect format) sixty (60) days after the application 

filing, the Commissioner may terminate the processing of the application and will deem the incomplete 

application withdrawn by the applicant. 

 

LICENSING FEES: 
Initial License Branch Office (Investigation Fee NOT Included): $1,700.00 

Investigation Fee (non-refundable): $100.00 

License Renewal: $1,700.00 
 

 

For U.S. Postal Service or Overnight Delivery 

 

Maryland Commissioner of Financial Regulation 

Attn: Licensing Unit 

500 N Calvert Street, Suite 402 

Baltimore, Maryland 21202 

 

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/mdcode/
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/mdcode/
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/mdcode/
http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/mdcode/
file://dllrcalvfs01/depts/fr/LICENSING%20UNIT/Intern%20Documents/Intern%20Projects/Chelsea/Sales%20Finance%20Branch%20Applicant%20Checklist.docx
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Registration Number:    ________________  
 

Applicant Legal Name: ______________________________________ 

 

ATTACHED 
NOT 

APPLICABLE 
MARYLAND INSTALLMENT LOAN  

BRANCH APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

  APPLICATION FEE: Non-refundable license fee paid by: 

Credit Card fee was paid on _____________ [Date]. 

 

Or 

 

Check was mailed with invoice on _____________ [Date] to: 

Maryland Commissioner of Financial Regulation 

P.O. Box 17409 

Baltimore, Maryland 21297-1409 

 

  TRADE NAME REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE: If the applicant will be 

operating under a name other than its legal name, the name must be 

registered with the Maryland State Department of Assessments and 

Taxation. 

  SURETY BOND ($12,000 per Installment Loan Company):  

 This bond must be completed on the form posted on the 

Commissioner’s website:  

http://www.dllr.state.md.us/finance/industry/installlend.shtml 

 The insured’s name and address must match exactly the applicant’s 

full legal name and address: and 

 The surety bond company must be licensed to conduct business in 

Maryland. 

 

Note: Confirm the bond company is licensed by doing a quick 

search on the Maryland Insurance Administration Website:   

http://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Pages/CompanySearchIns

tructions.aspx 

 The original surety bond must be submitted to the Office of the 

Commissioner of Financial Regulation and it will be maintained in 

the file. 

http://www.dllr.state.md.us/finance/industry/installlend.shtml
http://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Pages/CompanySearchInstructions.aspx
http://insurance.maryland.gov/Consumer/Pages/CompanySearchInstructions.aspx
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ATTACHED 
NOT 

APPLICABLE 
MARYLAND INSTALLMENT LOAN  

BRANCH APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

  MARYLAND BUSINESS ACTIVITY: 

1. Has applicant ever engaged in any installment loan business activity 

in Maryland? Yes ___   No ___ 

 

If “Yes,” provide an explanation as noted in questions 2 and 3 

below. 

 

2. If the answer to #1 is “Yes,” did applicant hold a Maryland 

Installment Loan License at the time loans or extensions of credit 

business activity was conducted?  Yes ___   No ___ 

 

If “Yes,” provide Maryland Registration No. ________ 

 

3. If the answer to #2 is “No,” was applicant exempt from licensing 

during all of the time that loans or extension of credit business 

activity was conducted?  Yes ___   No___ 

 

If “Yes,” provide an explanation of exemption claimed as instructed 

below. 

 

  EXPLANATION OF EXEMPTION CLAIMED: If applicant’s response 

to question 3 above was “Yes,”  provide: 

 

A detailed explanation of the basis for the exemption claimed (including 

the statutory and/or regulatory citation and any supporting documentation); 

and the date(s) on which installment loan business activity was conducted. 

  EXPLANATION OF MARYLAND BUSINESS ACTIVITY: If 

applicant engaged in installment loan business activity other than while 

licensed or exempt from licensing, attach a detailed explanation that 

includes: 

a) Date(s) installment loan activity was conducted; 

b) Name(s) of each consumer involved; 

c) Amount of payments received from each consumer; 

d) Copies of related consumer correspondence; 

e) Name of each creditor for who installment loan business was 

conducted; 

f) All locations where installment loan business activity was 

conducted; and 

g) All other relevant documentation. 

 

 



Rev 7/2016                           Page 4 of 5 

ATTACHED 
NOT 

APPLICABLE 
MARYLAND INSTALLMENT LOAN  

BRANCH APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

APPLICATION DISCLOSURE QUESTIONS EXPLAINED: If applicant answered “yes” to any 

disclosure questions on the electronic application. 

  QUESTION 1: Have YOU ever applied for and been denied a license 

issued by the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation or any other 

governmental unit of Maryland or any other state? 

 

For each denial, describe license type, identification of the unit that denied, 

date of the denial and reason(s) for the denial. 

 

“You” refer to any persons, including owners, partners, members, 

directors, officers and control persons, that are part of the registration, 

including any business entity. If a business entity is the owner, than the 

response must be from the persons that are part of that entity. 

  QUESTION 2: Have YOU ever been issued a license by the 

Commissioner? 

 

For each license, list license type, the name used, the license/registration 

number and term. 

  QUESTION 3: Will YOU be or are YOU now directly or indirectly paying 

or providing any form of compensation to any person other than a bona 

fide employee for referrals to the licensed business? 

 

Provide a written description of the relationship and any applicable 

supporting documentation. 

  QUESTION 4: Have there been any criminal, civil, or administrative 

actions initiated against YOU by any governmental agency, or individual 

in the past 12 months? 

 

Provide a written description, including but not limited to, the type of 

action, title and/or docket number associated with the action, identification 

of the initiating agency or party, the jurisdiction where the action was 

initiated, the current status of the action (pending, closed, etc.) and the 

outcome of the action, and any applicable supporting documentation.  

  QUESTION 5: Have YOU ever been convicted of or received probation 

before judgment for any criminal offense? 

 

Provide a written description and any applicable supporting legal 

documentation (including, but not limited to, the financial disposition, 

order(s) of expungement, and any other court documents.  If documents are 

unavailable, provide a letter from the court stating that the documents are 

unavailable). 
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WHOM TO CONTACT – Contact the Commissioner of Financial Regulation licensing staff by phone at 410-230-6155 

or 888-784-0136 for further assistance regarding Maryland specific requirements. 

 

 

THE APPLICANT/LICENSEE IS FULLY RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL OF THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE LICENSE FOR 
WHICH APPLICANT/LICENSEE IS APPLYING.  THE SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE FOR 
GUIDANCE ONLY.  SHOULD YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, PLEASE CONSULT LEGAL COUNSEL. 


