Financial Regulation masthead


The Office of the Commissioner of Financial Regulation has been advised that the functionality to submit fingerprints through the NMLS will be available in January 2010.  Pursuant to the SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act, ALL mortgage loan originators will likely be required to submit their fingerprints to the NMLS for purposes of a national criminal history record check from the FBI prior to December 31, 2010.   Submitting fingerprints outside of the NMLS in advance of January 2010 to the FBI or state will not satisfy this requirement.  

To minimize burden and expense, the Office therefore recommends that all licensees and license applicants who do not required to submit this fingerprints immediately wait until after January 2010 in order to do so through the NMLS.  This will enable them to avoid submitting fingerprints twice.

To be specific:

  • Mortgage originators licensed as of July 1, 2009 who are transitioning to NMLS and renewing their licenses are not required to submit fingerprints and complete the criminal background check until December 31, 2010.  These originators should complete the transition / renewal process through NMLS but delay submission of fingerprints until the NMLS system is ready in January 2010.  More details will be forthcoming.
  • Mortgage originators who were previously exempt from licensure prior to July 1, 2009 and who have applied for new licenses with an “Interim” status by submitting their applications PRIOR to July 31, 2009 are not required to submit fingerprints and complete the criminal background check until July 31, 2010.  These originators should delay submission of fingerprints until the NMLS system is ready in January 2010.  At that time, you will need to submit your fingerprints to the NMLS and Maryland’s Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository.  More details will be forthcoming.
  • Only NEW mortgage loan originators who are applying for initial licensure (excluding those who applied for licenses with “Interim” status as detailed below) must submit fingerprints and complete their background checks immediately.  These applicants will likely need to submit their fingerprints to NMLS later.  

Transition Application Checklist
New Application Checklist


Detailed information regarding education requirements for Mortgage Loan Originator and Mortgage Lender licensees and applicants have been posted to the website of the Office of Commissioner of Financial Regulation

Mortgage Loan Originators – Pre-licensing
Mortgage Loan Originators – Continuing Education
Mortgage Lenders – Pre-licensing 
Mortgage Lenders – Continuing Education
Course Providers

The information below is for Mortgage Loan Originators -  Effective July 1, 2009, the pre-licensing education requirement has been reduced from 40 hours to 20 hours and applies to all mortgage loan originators regardless of experience.

From July 1, 2009 to December 31, 2010, Maryland is completing its transition to the NMLS.  During this period:

  • Currently licensed mortgage originators transitioning and renewing as required from July 1, 2009 to December 31, 2010 are joining the NMLS for the first time.  Therefore, these loan originators must complete the required 20 hours of approved.  This requirement must be completed by December 31, 2010.  Maryland approved education completed over the past five years may be used to satisfy this requirement.

    • If you completed the required 40 hours of Maryland approved pre-licensing education at the time you were ORIGINALLY licensed by Maryland, this education will satisfy the requirement.  You do not need to submit any additional documentation.  Please review your NMLS file once you are approved to ensure there is no deficiency related to education.

    • If you were originally licensed by Maryland based upon having three years or more of experience, you may satisfy the pre-licensing education requirement by either (i) providing a completion certificate or transcript proving you took 20 hours of Maryland-approved continuing education within the last five years, or (ii) submitting a completion certification or transcript proving that you have completed 20 hours of Maryland approved pre-licensing education. You will receive an Approved-Conditional license with a deficiency in education until this requirement is met. Please see the Transition Checklist.
  • New applicants must complete the required 20 hours of approved pre-licensing education.  Submit proof (completion certification or transcript) that you have completed the 20 hours of classroom education.  Licensees qualifying for interim status must complete this requirement by July 31, 2010. See the Transition Checklist for details. 

Effective July 1, 2009, the requirements for mortgage originators are below:

Federal Law and Regulations 3 Hours
Ethics, Fraud, Consumer Protection and Fair Lending. 3 Hours
Lending Standards for Nontraditional Mortgage Products 2 Hours
Maryland Mortgage-Related Law 3 Hours
Maryland Finders Fee Law 2 Hours
Electives 7 Hours

MD Department of Labor, Licensing & Regulation
Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation Office of Financial Regulation
500 N. Calvert Street - Baltimore, Maryland 21202 - (410) 230-6155
If you would like to subscribe to our newsletter please .