Information for Maryland Consumers

CHECKSCASHING

SERVICES

What is a Check Cashing Service?
A check cashing service accepts checks from consumers, and in return the check
cashing service provides the consumer with a cash payment in the amount of the

check, minus fees.

Retailers and other businesses may offer check cashing services that are incidental
to the sale of goods or other services. Banks and credit unions may also charge fees
to cash a check, even if the check is drawn from their own financial institution.

About Our Office

Your Protection Under Maryland Law

With the exception of certain banks and credit unions, Maryland requires all check X . .
- ) ) o ) ) ) The Office of Financial
cashers to be licensed or registered with the Commissioner of Financial Regulation. . .
Regulation is the primary
Licensed check cashers are limited to the following fees: regulator for state-chartered
- If cashing a check that was issued by local, state or federal government, the fee financial institutions and state-
is limited to 2% of the amount of the check or $3, whichever is greater. licensed financial service
. If cashing a personal check, the fee is limited to 10% of the amount of the check providers.
or $5, whichever is greater. The Office’s mission is to
- If cashing another type of payment instrument, the fee is limited to 4% of the protect Marylanders through the
amount of the payment instrument or $5, whichever is greater. operation of a modern financial

regulatory system that promotes
respect for consumers, safety

and compliance, fair competition,

responsible business innovation,

Licensed or registered check cashers must display, in 48 point or larger type, and a strong state economy.

a notice of the fees they charge for their check cashing services and the phone

« A one-time membership fee that may not exceed $5.

Registered check cashers may charge a fee that is 1.5% of the amount of the
check/payment instrument or $1, whichever is greater.

number for our Office.
Wes Moore, Governor
Questions & Concerns Aruna Miller, Lt. Governor
To verify whether a business providing check cashing services is licensed or .
. . .. Portia Wu, Secretary, Maryland
registered in Maryland, visit www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org.
Department of Labor
If you believe yoq have bfeen overcharged or have.othe.r concerns. Antonio P. Salazar, Commissioner

about a check cashing service, you can file a complaint with our Office of Financial Regulation

by visiting www.labor.maryland.gov/finance/consumers.
Call 410-230-6077 or email CSU.Complaints@maryland.gov for assistance.

Office of Financial Regulation
Maryland Department of Labor
100 S. Charles Street, Tower 1, Suite 5300
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