The Welfare-to-Work Tax Credit for hiring long-term recipients can be as much as $8,500
per new hire: 35% of qualified wages for the first year, and 50% of qualified wages for the second year of
Qualified wages: which include tax exempt amounts received under accident and health plans, as well as
educational and dependent assistance programs - are capped at $10,000 per year. To qualify employers for this tax
credit, new hires must begin work at any time after December 31, 2006, and before September 1, 2011, and must be
employed at least 400 hours or 180 days.
Hiring Any of These Individuals Will Qualify You for the Welfare-to-Work Tax Credit
Long-term welfare recipients who are:
- Members of a family receiving Temporary Cash Assistance (TCA) for at least 18
consecutive months before the date of hire
- Members of a family whose eligibility to receive benefits has expired under federal or
state law since August 5, 1997
- Members of a family which have received benefits for any 18 months since August 5, 1997.
Applying for Certification is Quick and Easy
Employers must apply for and receive certification from the Maryland Tax Credit Unit
for each new hire before they can claim a credit on their Federal Income Tax Return.
Complete the one-page IRS
"Pre-Screening Notice and Certification Request" by the date of the job offer,
and either the one-page U.S. Department of Labor:
PDF document, download
Adobe Acrobat for free;
"Individual Characteristics Form", or
ETA Form 9062; "Conditional Certification Form", if provided to the job seekers.
Mail the signed IRS and ETA forms to the State Tax Credit Unit at:
WOTC and/or Welfare-to-Work Tax Credit
1100 N. Eutaw Street, Room 201
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Note: The IRS form must be postmarked no later than 21 days after the new hires date.
To get the necessary forms or Internet address to download forms, call Belinda
Duncan at (410) 767-2047.