
 
 

MARYLAND EARNED SICK AND SAFE LEAVE 
EMPLOYEE NOTICE 

 

 

The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act requires employers with 15 or more employees to provide paid 
sick and safe leave for certain employees. It also requires that employers who employ 14 or fewer employees 
provide unpaid sick and safe leave for certain employees. 

Accrual 

Earned sick and safe leave begins to accrue on February 11, 2018, or the date on which an employee begins 
employment with the employer, whichever is later. An employee accrues earned sick and safe leave at a rate of 
at least one hour for every 30 hours the employee works; however, an employee is not entitled to earn more 
than 40 hours of earned sick and safe leave in a year or accrue more than 64 hours of earned sick and safe leave 
at any time. 

Leave Usage 

An employee is allowed to use earned sick and safe leave under the following conditions: 

 To care for or treat the employee’s mental or physical illness, injury, or condition; 
 To obtain preventative medical care for the employee or the employee’s family member; 
 To care for a family member with a mental or physical illness, injury, or condition; 
 For maternity or paternity leave; or 
 The absence from work is necessary due to domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking committed 

against the employee or the employee’s family member and the leave is being used: (1) to obtain 
medical or mental health attention; (2) to obtain services from a victim services organization; (3) for 
legal services or proceedings; or (4) because the employee has temporarily relocated as a result of the 
domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking. 

A family member includes a spouse, child, parent, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, the legal guardian or 
ward of the employee or the employee's spouse, or an individual who acted as a parent or stood in loco 
parentis to the employee or the employee’s spouse when the employee or the employee’s spouse was a minor. 

Employees are permitted to use earned sick and safe leave in increments in certain amounts established by 
their employer. Employees are required to give notice of the need to use earned sick and safe leave when it is 
foreseeable. An employer may deny leave in certain circumstances. 

Reporting 

Employers are required to provide employees with a written statement of the employee’s available earned 
sick and safe leave. 

Prohibitions 

An employer is prohibited under the law from taking adverse action against an employee who exercises a 
right under the Maryland Healthy Working Families Act and an employee is prohibited from making a 
complaint, bringing an action, or testifying in an action in bad faith. 

How to File a Complaint or Obtain Additional Information 

If you feel your rights have been violated under this law or you would like additional information, you may 
contact: 

Commissioner of Labor and Industry 

                                      10946 Golden West Drive, Suite 160 - Hunt Valley, MD 21031 

ssl.assistance@maryland.gov 
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LICENCIA DE ENFERMEDAD Y SALIDA SEGURA DE MARYLAND 
NOTIFICACIÓN PARA EMPLEADOS 

 

 

La Ley de Familias Trabajadoras Saludables de Maryland requiere que los empleadores con 15 o más 
empleados brinden licencia de enfermedad y seguro para ciertos empleados. También requiere que los 
empleadores que emplean a 14 o menos empleados brinden licencias no remuneradas por enfermedad y seguro 
para ciertos empleados. 

Acumulación 

El permiso de enfermedad y seguro comienza a acumularse desde 11 de febrero de 2018 o la fecha en que un 
empleado comienza a trabajar para el empleador. Un empleado acumula un permiso de enfermedad y seguro a 
una tasa de una hora por cada 30 horas de trabajo. Un empleado tiene derecho a ganar un máximo de 40 horas 
de licencia de enfermedad y seguro en un año. Lo máximo que un empleado puede acumular es un total de 64 
horas de licencia de enfermedad y seguro. 

Uso de Licencia 

Un empleado puede usar la licencia de enfermedad y seguro acumulada bajo las siguientes condiciones: 

 Para cuidar o tratar la enfermedad, lesión o condición mental o física del empleado; 
 Para obtener atención médica preventiva para el empleado o miembro de la familia del empleado; 
 Para cuidar a un miembro de la familia con una enfermedad, lesión o condición mental o física; 
 Por licencia de maternidad o paternidad; o 
 La ausencia del trabajo es necesaria debido a violencia doméstica, agresión sexual o acoso cometido 

contra el empleado o el miembro de la familia del empleado y el permiso se usa: (1) para obtener 
atención médica o de salud mental; (2) para obtener servicios de una organización de servicios para 
víctimas; (3) para servicios o procedimientos legales; o (4) porque el empleado se ha mudado 
temporalmente como resultado de la violencia doméstica, la agresión sexual o el acoso. 

Un miembro de la familia incluye un cónyuge, hijos, padres, abuelos, nietos o hermanos el guardián legal o 
tutor de un empleado o del cónyuge del empleado, o un individuo que actúa como padre o madre, o que quedó 
en loco parentis del empleado o de su cónyuge cuando el empleado o el cónyuge del empleado eran menores 
de edad. 

A los empleados se les permite usar la licencia de enfermedad y seguro acumulada en incrementos  
establecidos por su empleador. Se requiere que los empleados notifiquen la necesidad de utilizar la licencia de 
enfermedad y seguro ganadas cuando sea previsible. Un empleador puede negar la licencia bajo ciertas 
circunstancias. 

Informes 

Se requiere que los empleadores proporcionen a los empleados por escrito el balance de las horas de licencia 
de enfermedad y seguro disponible al empleado. 

Prohibiciones 

La ley prohíbe a un empleador emprender acciones adversas contra un empleado que ejerce su derecho 
conforme a la Ley de Familias Trabajadoras Saludables de Maryland y se le prohíbe a un empleado presentar 
una queja, iniciar una acción o testificar en una acción de mala fe. 

Cómo Presentar una Queja u Obtener Información Adicional 

Si considera que se han violado sus derechos según esta ley o si desea obtener información adicional, puede 
comunicarse con: 

Comisionado de Trabajo e Industria 
10946 Golden West Drive – Suite 160 | Hunt Valley, MD 21031 
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